Book Review: God Gave Us So Much

The book: God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Tawn Bergren

My first book review selection is a children’s book.  As a homeschool mom, it seemed like the right choice as I have three young critics to help me share about the book.  The book is actually three books in one, something I did not know when I selected it.  Included in the treasury is God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. So my work is cut out for me since I will be reviewing not one, but three books!

The stories are from the perspective a polar bear family and often depict a mom, dad, siblings, and grandparents.  I enjoyed the illustrations for all three books.  They were gentle on the eyes and depicted loving familial relationships.  The words were soothing in tone and and, combined with the soft illustrations, this makes them great bedtime stories.  My four and six year old daughters loved reading them just before bed, but they did lose interest after the first two.  For younger children, treating it like a chapter book and reading one story per day will help keep them interested.  My youngest children really like to feel bigger than they are and treasury books are a great way to do that.

Up first is God Gave Us the World.  This story was not what I thought it would be based on the title.  I imagined it would be based on Genesis based on the title.  Instead it turned out to be a lovely story about all the unique things God created and how we are all created individually.  Children are always full of questions, and the bear cub is no different.  He has a lovely discussion with Mama Bear about all the different kinds of bears there are in the world and the different places they live.  It generated some great conversation with my daughters about people being the same on the inside even if we look different on the outside.

God Gave Us Love was exactly what I expected.  It was a timely read for us as my daughters are not always wanting to love each other, much like little cub and the otters in the story.   One particular part of the story was good for me, too.  Little cub is reminded to

show others love by being patient, gentle, and kind

and

In all ways, we should try to show love.

Good reminders, no matter how old you are.

God Gave Us Heaven is a very simple explanation of the age old question “What is Heaven?”  Unfortunately, I tried to read the story to the girls after reading the first two and they left me on my own after a couple of pages.  Little Cub has lots of questions, much like my sweet girls, and the first thing I will do when the subject comes up again is read this story again!  Much like the other two stories, the illustrations are gentle to the eyes and seeing the little bear go fishing with his father is so sweet.  Even if bears don’t use fishing poles in the real world!

This treasury is certainly a treasure!

Please consider ranking my review by clicking the image below.  It’s easy and no sign up is required!

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I did not have to provide a positive review to get this book, the opinion here is entirely my own.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging For Books, Imagination's Canvas

2 responses to “Book Review: God Gave Us So Much

  1. Great review! This book was my first choice also. lol. Mommas always put the kids first. I haven’t finished reading the book to my little ones yet because they couldn’t stay focused past one story. I was just checking out other reviews to get a better idea of what I should focus on.
    BTW, love your blog name. That’s a very favorite book in our home too. My 3yo loves to recite parts of it.

Leave a Reply

