The Mute Button

I was 12 when my little sister was born.  My brother had just turned 9.  We had a significant advantage over her when she was a child.  I don’t remember exactly how old she was when we pulled a funny (to us) prank on her.  I think she was around 4 years old.

Older siblings like my brother and I enjoyed watching television.  Younger siblings like my sister enjoyed being noisy and bothering us while we watched television.  She was especially aggravating that day.  Or we could have been especially mischievous.  Either way, what happened was funny to all of us except her.

We were fed up and I told her I was going to mute her with the remote if she didn’t chill out.

She did not believe me.

<sinister laugh>MWAHAHAHAHA</sinister laugh>

She did not chill out and I dramatically pointed the remote control at her and pushed the button with fanfare.  I said, “Katie, I muted you.”

She did not believe me.

I said, “Katie, I can see your lips moving, but I can’t hear you.”

My brother backed me up.

She did not believe us.

She ran to the kitchen and said to our mom, who had heard and seen everything, “MOM!!! Tell them they can hear me!”

My mom said, “Katie, I can see your lips moving, but I can’t hear you.”

My brother and I laughed so hard.  Of course,  I now know that it is very wrong to get a laugh at someone’s expense.  But my immature self still thinks it’s a funny family story.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “The Mute Button

  1. kelly p

    ha! can’t believe mom played along too!!

  2. That is so messed up you r lucky I dont remember

Leave a Reply

